To Respond or Not To Respond?

I have always had this question while dealing with skeptics. How do I answer someone who is sure that the Bible was written by men? Or how do we respond to someone who calls us names or tells us to go to hell?

Believe it or not, the Bible does give us some insight into this. There is a verse in Proverbs 26:4, and 5. It says, “Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest you be like him yourself. Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own eyes.” Proverbs 26:4,5 ESV

A few months ago, I was watching a Youtube video on a group of people singing the Halleluiah Chorus in a mall. There were many nasty, sick remarks under it. This just shows the depravity of man. When people resort to using bad language and filth, it is so degrading. I made a comment. Don’t remember what it was though. Someone responded right away with a nasty remark to me. I responded back with a rhetorical question. He again responded with utter nastiness. At this point, I felt led to just stop. I could see going around and around in circles with this guy and going nowhere. There was no normal reasoning, and it was time for me to quit responding. My first reply was an answer to his folly. The second non response from me was because I don’t want to join in with his folly. I don’t want to stoop down to his level. There would be no redeeming value in that.

When you find yourself in such a situation, pray that God will give you a good answer, or wisdom on whether or not you should even respond. Sometimes, when we answer someone, a light bulb goes on inside them. I have had this happen when I was in a skeptics group. Someone will ask a question, and then at some point I will chime in. I have had skeptics tell me that they never knew that before (I think the subject was showing God’s wrath and God’s mercy in both the Old and New Testaments). Many times, a skeptic will ask the original question, just to start an argument, but another onlooker may be enlightened by what you write.

Leave a Reply

